PM inaugurates 50 spectacular model mosques

- A Monitor Desk Report Date: 12 June, 2021 | 553 Views
PM Sheikh Hasina inaugurating 50 model mosques part of the 560 mosques-cum-centres of excellence establishment project from her official residence Ganabhaban in the capital on June 10

Dhaka: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on June 10 opened 50 radiant model mosques newly constructed across the country, fulfilling one of her election pledges.

The landmark mosques have been established as part of the government's move to set up 560 such mosques-cum-centres of excellence at district and Upazila levels, with the aim of spreading Islamic fraternity, real Islamic values and practices, conducting research, creating strong infrastructures for prayers for men and women alike, providing religious teaching and training and enhancing public awareness against social diseases.

In a model mosque cum-Islamic cultural center, there are separate prayer halls and ablution places for men and women.

The centers have Islamic libraries, Islamic book sale corners, training centers, and pre-registration for Hajj aspirants and imams; Hifzkhana, and the offices of Islamic Foundation.

Another significant addition to the mosques is autism corners and guest rooms for tourists, both local and foreign.

They also have arrangements for Islamic research and religious activities and funeral activities. Besides, facilities are there for educating children and the mass people.

One of the most interesting additions is the toilet facilities for the physically challenged devotees.

The Prime Minister inaugurated the 50 model mosques virtually from her official residence Ganabhaban in the capital on the occasion of the Mujib Year.

State Minister for Religious Affairs Md Faridul Haque Khan chaired the inaugural function, attending it from Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital.

The 50 mosques are at Savar upazila in Dhaka; Madhukhali and Saltha upazilas in Faridpur; Pakundia and Kuliarchar upazilas in Kishoreganj; Shivalaya upazila in Manikganj; Rajbari Sadar upazila, Shariatpur Sadar and Gosairhat upazilas; Shariakandi, Sherpur, and Kahaloo upazilas in Bogra; Sapahar and Porsha upazilas in Naogaon; Sirajganj Sadar upazila, Chatmohar upazila in Pabna; Godagari and Paba upazilas in Rajshahi; Khansama and Birol in Dinajpur; Patgram upazila in Lalmonirhat; Panchagarh Sadar and Debiganj upazilas; Rangpur Sadar upazila, Mithapukur, Pirganj and Badargonj upazilas; Haripur upazila in Thakurgaon; Subarnachar upazila in Noakhali; Gafargaon and Tarakanda upazilas in Mymensingh; Lohagara, Mirsarai and Sandwip upazilas in Chittagong; Jamalpur Sadar and Islampur upazilas; Nabinagar and Bijoynagar upazilas in Brahmanbaria; Bhola Sadar, Dakshinsurma upazila in Sylhet; Daudkandi upazila in Comilla; Panchari upazila in Khagrachhari; Kushtia Sadar; Khulna district; Kachua upazila in Chandpur; Rajapur upazila in Jhalakathi; and Chuadanga Sadar upazila.

Latest News: UAE suspends passenger entry from Indonesia, Afghanista

Share this post

Also on Bangladesh Monitor

Subscribe Us

Please Subscribe and get updates in your inbox. Thank you.